Prizes and Awards Recipients in the Class of 2013 — Congratulations!

Congratulations to the following first-year students for their academic and leadership accomplishments!

Katherine Marcus 2013Ayres Prize:  The gift of Daniel Ayres, Class of 1842, to the first-year student who attains the highest academic standing in the first semester.

James Gardner 2013 — Blankenagel Prize:  From the John C. Blankenagel Fund, established in 1970, awarded at the discretion of the Department of German studies to enrich educational offerings in the area of humanistic studies, or to assist a superior student in completing a project in German studies.

Miriam Kwietniewska 2013Chadbourne Prize:  The gift of George Storrs Chadbourne, Class of 1858, to that member of the first-year class outstanding in character, conduct, and scholarship.

Rebecca Coven 2013, Piers Gelly 2013, Shelley Miller 2013, Marina Reza 2013, Benjamin Soloway 2013Cole Prize:  Established through the gift of George Henry Walker, Class of 1981, in the memory of Charles Edward Cole. Awarded to the first-year student who shows the greatest ability in fiction or nonfiction writing.

Chuqiao Dong 2013, Scott Greene 2013CRC Award:  Awarded to an outstanding first-year chemistry student, based on grades in organic chemistry over the interval of the current academic year.

Joseph O’Donnell 2013First-Year Leadership Award:  Awarded to a first-year student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership or involvement in the Wesleyan community.

Alexa Chiappetta 2013, Hyunjin Cho 2013, Valerie Eldridge 2013Susan Frazer Prize:  Awarded annually to the student (or students) who has done the most distinguished work in the elementary and intermediate French language sequence.

Guy Geyer 2013, Huitao Zhu 2013Johnston Prize:  The gift of David George Downey, Class of 1884, in memory of Professor John Johnston. Awarded to those first-year students or sophomores whose performance in their first two semesters of physics shows exceptional promise.

Chen-chi Chien 2013, Azra Horowitz 2013, Naixi Wang 2013Sherman Prize―MathEstablished by David Sherman, D.D., Class of 1872. Two prizes awarded annually, one for excellence in first-year mathematics and the other for excellence in classics.